First Jobs

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
NoCoPilot

NoCoPilot

First Jobs Empty
PostSubject: First Jobs   First Jobs EmptyTue Feb 02, 2016 7:35 am

This morning in the shower for some reason I was remembering my first full-time job.

I'd worked summers at the hardware store or at the plant nursery all during school, but when I graduated and suddenly had to support myself I had to take whatever full-time employment I could find, and this was right after the big Seattle recession of 1970-1 when they put up billboards, "Will the last person leaving Seattle please turn out the lights?"  Boeing engineers were cashiering, legal secretaries were waiting tables.

Consequently the only job I could get, without a college degree, was in a warehouse.  A very physical, dangerous job.  I still have the scars to prove it.

I worked for Ralph Wilson Plastics, WilsonArt, a Texas-based competitor of Formica.  We were the NW distributor for sheets of countertopping.  Every couple of days we'd get one or two tractor-trailer trucks in with two big "railroad carts" inside, big metal sleds 6' wide and 15' long, stacked 6' high with sheets of plastic.  The bottom of the stack was the largest size we stocked, 5x12s.  Next 4x12s then 3x12s.  On top of that would be 5x10s, 4x10s and 3x10s, then finally 5x8s, 4x8s and 3x8s.  Our warehouse also stocked "offalls," cut pieces down to 2x3.

The truck would back up to our loading dock -- whenever they arrived from Texas, which most often was between 2:00 and 4:00 in the morning -- we'd open up the warehouse door and the back door of the truck.  Our forklift (propane powered because it was an enclosed warehouse) had a hole in one of the forks, which we would use to catch the trailer hitch on the front of the railroad cart and drag it out of the truck.  These things weighed many tons, and often the forklift spun its wheels trying to move a cart.