Go down 
AuthorMessage
NoCoPilot

NoCoPilot

"Trombone" Empty
PostSubject: "Trombone"   "Trombone" EmptyWed Feb 06, 2013 11:54 am

Leo Kottke wrote:
TROMBONE
Studying with three teachers in three years, I was a trombone student in Oklahoma until I was about
fifteen years old. Each weekend at one of their houses I'd wait in the kitchen until the trombonist in
the basement would yell up at me to come down-- they all taught in their basements. I would
descend, assemble my horn, sit in a folding chair, park my sheet music on the stand, weather some
insult aimed at my embouchure, and play whatever I had not been studying for the last week.
My teachers-- industrious, frugal, starving men-- had one thing in common other than my unpreparedness:
they'd all installed do-it-yourself showers in those basements. These units stood in
some corner, usually my corner, and they'd drip... ploink, ploink. There was nothing more ominous
than basements with leaking showers in them, and there was no telling when fear began, but my
trombone kept those home improvements at bay.

I was a hero.

I had fewer illusions about my playing. Bob Green was a trombone player, I was a kid with a
trombone. Still, I was convinced that I'd eventually outgrow the roll in my embouchure and grow up
like Pinocchio to be a real trombone player. I loved to play and I loved the trombone; but I never
considered that a trombonist might have to install his own shower; I never guessed that my
trombone teachers might be trombonists; I never considered that a life in trombone might differ from
the one I was imagining... a life lived in hotels, in black suits and skinny ties, Ray-Bans indoors, by
someone who never played much and was depressed.

(By the time I knew depression was free, and that I didn't have to play trombone to be depressed,
I'd imitated its "mood" for so long that I couldn't refuse the Damned Cloud when it did arrive. If